Salted Buckwheat and Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies

I should call these the heatstroke cookies. Have you ever had heatstroke? I guess I don’t know if my condition truly was real, diagnosable heat-stroke. But, either way, I so asked for it. Non-diagnosed heatstroke is what you get when the meteorologists predict it will be the warmest day of the summer in Iowa, and you wake up at 6am to do your 6-mile fartlek run and core, then you have a garden work session from 8:30am-12:30pm, a quick break to shower, grab lunch, lug your hamper three streets away to do laundry, and back to work at the farmers’ market, lugging tents and what-not from 2:30pm-6:30pm (its 105 degrees F by now). You drink coconut water and the contents of about 6 nalgenes, but you still develop a thumping headache and an awful stomach ache where all you can do to not puke up your kale, tomato, and basil omelette is lie on your stomach on your bed (with no sheets because you can’t stand up to fold your newly-laundered sheets) with two box fans blowing at your sweat-lined face, until you fall asleep at 8pm. Maybe it seems like I made all of the wrong decisions on the hottest day of the summer (except the coconut water, always a good decision), but the garden work and farmers market were work commitments, and the laundry was an adulthood commitment, so I really had no choice but to commit myself to non-diagnosed heatstroke, right?

Anyway, heatstroke cookies. My post-heatstroke body woke me up at 5:45am, and was all, come on Emma, let’s run three marathons, lift weights, jump rope, clean the kitchen, clean the house, make snow angels, go ice skating, and maybe even hold hands! Luckily, any and all sources of logic within me were used to convince myself that I should probably wait until later in the day to see how I felt before exercising. Of course, the only logical thing to do in a post-heatstroke heatwave, when you can’t exercise, is to turn your oven on and bake cookies!

I also had a bag of Iowa buckwheat groats (yay local grains!), a jar of tahini, and a craving for the most delicious, perfectly crispy, perfectly warm, naturally-sweetened chocolate chip cookie. This recipe is roughly inspired by Detoxinista’s “Easy Vegan Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Cookies” and the “salted tahini chocolate chip cookies” by Molly Yeh (she’s awesome! I love her blog, and especially how she weaves her Jewish and Asian heritage, as well as her current life as a Midwestern farmer, into her recipes). These cookies filled all the voids, and next time, I think I’ll be even more generous with that tahini 🙂

FullSizeRender-27FullSizeRender-26FullSizeRender-25FullSizeRender-28.jpg

Salted Buckwheat and Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies

(heatstroke not required or recommended)

Ingredients:

1 cup + 1 tbsp buckwheat flour (ground from buckwheat groats)

1/2 cup coconut sugar

1 tsp sea salt

1 large egg (have not tried vegan substitutes, but would be interesting to see the consistency with a chia or flax egg)

1/3 cup melted coconut oil

2 tbsp water

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup tahini

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup (or more!) dark chocolate chips (I use Lily’s Baking Chips because they’re stevia-sweetened and I agree with their commitment to using ethically, sustainably-sourced chocolate, and practice of donating a portion of their profits to children’s cancer services)

Hints:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease a large baking sheet with coconut oil, or line with parchment paper.

If you are starting with buckwheat groats, grind groats in a food processor or strong blender (my nutri-bullet worked great) until they take the consistency of a course flour.

Add all ingredients (buckwheat flour, coconut sugar, salt, egg, coconut oil, water, vanilla, tahini, and baking soda), except for the apple cider vinegar and chocolate chips, to a large mixing bowl. Mix well.

Add apple cider vinegar and mix well.

Add chocolate chips and mix into the dough.

Scoop dough into tbsp-sized mounds and place about 2-3 inches apart, on pre-greased or pre-lined baking sheet.

Bake for about 10 minutes, until slightly golden brown around the edges, removing at 7 minutes to check readiness.

Let cool for 20 minutes and enjoy!!!

Post-Heatstroke Emma enjoyed her salted buckwheat and tahini chocolate chip cookies for breakfast, over a bed of mashed, frozen nanner, hemp seeds, mixed nut-butter, almonds, a drizzle of maple syrup and a dash of cinnamon.

FullSizeRender-23

¡Buen provecho!

4 thoughts on “Salted Buckwheat and Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Reblogged this on HedgeRaw, Holistics and Herbs and commented:
    These sound yummy. I’m always on the lookout for other ways to use Tahini. Rather partial to it as the 5kg tub attests. I usually reduce the sugar in recipes and I will probably do so with this recipe, even though it is coconut sugar. Increasingly I prefer my “sweet treats” not so sweet.

    Like

    1. Glad you liked the recipe! I too prefer my sweets not so sweet, and have found that these are not too sweet, as the coconut sugar doesn’t have that same overwhelming taste as table sugar. I also like that it’s added fiber slows glucose absorption and that it contains many more vitamins and minerals when compared with table sugar. I’ll be interested to hear how less coconut sugar/different sweeteners work out!

      Like

      1. HI. Yes I made these with half the coconut sugar. I found them just right for me. I could pick out the tahini flavour well. My husband and daughter both enjoyed them too. I agree with your comments about coconut sugar. The flavour is more caramel than straight sugary. I like to try these with a home made or really high cocoa chocolate such as an 85-90%.

        I really liked the texture of the ground dried buckwheat too. Mine came out a bit coarser than a commercial “flour”. I’ll be making them again that’s for sure.

        Like

Leave a Reply

